file error (wrong type) -lost sequence

Posted by Adam 
file error (wrong type) -lost sequence
January 07, 2006 02:06PM
Okay. Calm. Deep breath. I had saved my sequences and final cut of a project I have been working on for six months in a FCP movie file. I then proceeded to do everything wrong. I bought a G5 upgraded to FCP 5.0.4 and then tried to continue working on the project. I did it because Tiger was screwing up my FCP 3.0.4. I also stopped autosaving somewhere around a month ago, possibly longer. I now get an error when trying to open up the main file: (general error 27) When I try to open the FCP movie I get (file error: wrong type) All my clips were imported perfectly into FCP 5. I even had some old sequences that were imported through an autosave I had from a month ago. IF there is someway to get that FCP movie to open or fix it (it might be corrupted) that would be the ticket. Any help is appreciated. I'm in dire straights. I also tried reinstalling an older version of OSX and reinstalling FCP 3.0.4 in my old G4. It didn't work.
Re: file error (wrong type) -lost sequence
January 07, 2006 06:14PM
> stopped autosaving somewhere around a month ago, possibly longer. I now > get an error when trying to open up the main file: (general error 27) When I
> try to open the FCP movie I get (file error: wrong type)

A corruption is possible, but before you write off the file, try a couple of things:

a) Simplify the file name to "XYZ.mov"; sometimes an application can be fooled into thinking it's incompatible with a file just by virtue of what the file is called.
b) Open the file in QuickTime Player and re-save it to a QuickTime movie;
c) Open the file in another non-FCP application (eg. MPEG Streamclip) and see if you can access it.