Broadcast Monitor

Posted by Jen 
Jen
Broadcast Monitor
January 13, 2006 11:36AM
I am new to the world of broadcast video so I need a little clarification with regards to using an external monitor. Why is it that when I view my footage on a computer monitor, it appears much darker then on the television set. Viewed on my apple display, the luminance and chrominace values look good. But when viewed on the television, the brightness levels are almost unbearable. Does this have something to do with RGB/CMYK (television is CMYK?)? Levels of brightness on a monitor? How do you prepare your media for both situations? Thanks so much.

Re: Broadcast Monitor
January 13, 2006 12:17PM
a computer monitor is never an accurate way to view images intended for NTSC viewing.

you NEED a broadcast monitor - or at very least a proper television connected via camera, deck or converter box like a canopus advc.

computer monitors and televisions are RGB, NOT CMYK. they only reason to work in CMYK is if you are doing work for print media.

there is no need to prep your media for use in two places. monitor it on a broadcast monitor and your finsihed product will be fine.
January 13, 2006 12:35PM
> How do you prepare your media for both situations?

Do as Wayne suggests and go with what you see on a properly calibrated broadcast monitor. A television set is, unfortunately, no substitute, but it's better than watching the deceptive images on the Canvas. Also, use FCP's tools to help you stay within broadcast limits -- Scopes, Waveform Monitor. Range Check is a good, basic and fast checker for getting you near the ballpark. If it's good for NTSC, it'll be OK for computer monitors.
Jen
January 13, 2006 12:50PM
O.K. But what technical aspects separate the computer display from the television set? Is resolution the key factor?
January 13, 2006 12:55PM