audio into fcp

Posted by candela 
audio into fcp
July 07, 2005 06:08PM
hi, thanks for a great forum!

please pardon me if my question seems silly...i'm new to filmmaking and fcp, and well...everything is perplexing!

i have fcp4 and am working on a g4 powerbook. so far i've learned how to log and capture and that is about it.

what i need help with is audio. i want to record some voice interviews with my subjects and am not sure how. i don't have a camera so that is not an option, but i am willing to buy an audio recorder...i just don't know what i need. oh...and i don't even know what format that audio should be.

i want something small that i can take on-site, and then input the audio right into fcp. or do i just need to go into itunes? hmmmm.

any help offered is greatly appreciated. thanks!
candy

Red Hot Mamas: The Movie!
Re: audio into fcp
July 07, 2005 06:22PM
go to target, frys, best buy or circuit city and buy a portable audio recorder. these are small you can keep in your pocket like a cellphone. will cost you about 50 dollars. buy the one that has USB connection. record your interview onto it, and then use the USB connection to transfer the audio files to your powerbook. usually those recorders use .wav or .aiff format which is totally compatible with FCP. after transferring the audio file onto your powerbook, import it in your project (control+click in the browser window) and then drag it in the timeline as a new audio track.

cheers
-taslimur
July 07, 2005 06:27PM
wow...that took all of five minutes. i think i love this forum!
cheers,
candy
July 07, 2005 06:29PM
first you need to answer two questions:

1. what degree of audio quality are you hoping for
2. what is your budget?
July 07, 2005 06:30PM
decent quality??? is that a good answer? clear, clean...but realistically with my budget...about 150....i'm not expecting miracles.
July 07, 2005 06:40PM