Putting an HDV Kit together for someone

Posted by S. Jonson 
Hello all,

I've got no HDV experience, i only use FCP with DV material. However I'm helping someone who's new to FCP put together a kit, they want a powerbook 15 inch which will have the RAM, VRAM and HD space maxed out, they've already got some FW800 external drives but are wandering if the Powerbook will be able to hack HDV procsessor and harddrive wise.

Cheers

Sven the Jonson
i would NEVER use a powerbook as my main editing machine (even at the DV level). i use a 17" quite a bit for mobile work, but im always sooooo glad to get back to my office g5.

for general cutting, the powerbook should perform acceptably, but anything processor intensive like encoding or rendering effects is going to be painfully slow by comparison
I have a Dual 2.0 G5 w/ 4GB of Ram and an X800 video card with 23" ACD. I also have a 12" Powerbook G4 with 1.5 GB ram and the built in video card. I shoot HDV and DV, and obviously the g5 blows away the powerbook, but if you're on a trip or out in the field and need to capture and make quick cuts, the powerbook does the job. I would never want to edit anything beyond just basic cuts though, as it would take much too long..then again I think back to a few years ago when I had a 533Mhz g4 and I thought that was fast compared to an old g3 from 98.
Re: Putting an HDV Kit together for someone
July 19, 2005 06:27PM
for capture and simple cuts, a powerbook would be ok for HDV.

mine was when i was doing some recent tests.

but the rendering!

it felt like i was back on my old 400Mhz G4

nick

July 19, 2005 07:01PM
Likewise -

I use my ancient 15" 500 g4 PB to cut shows all the time. It's fine for capture and loging, and fine for basic cuts. You can get a surprising amount done on it. I bump to the G5 to do anything beyond a simple title. And yes - 2 21" monitors are way more spacious.

But I'm an old and gray workhorse, and I like to go home every now and then.