dropped frames in FCP5

Posted by miko 
dropped frames in FCP5
August 17, 2005 03:06PM
I've been working with FCP at work for around three years and finally decided to break down and buy a system for home. I purchased the G5 Dual 1.7 gig with 1- 1/2 GB ram with final cut 5 studio. I work exclusively with Mini DV at this time.

I've had the misfortune of having dropped frame issues when I want to output my program to tape from the timeline. It's become a big issue. I've done most everything recommended to prevent this but this is the first time I've had to deal with this since I've started using FCP.

In the last three years, I've purchase three other systems from Promax and not one of the systems behaved this badly.

Any suggestions out there?
Re: dropped frames in FCP5
August 17, 2005 05:12PM
What is your COMPLETE setup? What external drives (or do you have a SECONDARY internal) do you have? You cannot capture to the main drive with the OS.

do you have virus software installed?
August 17, 2005 10:06PM
First, Miko e-mailed me and asked:

"Hi Shane -

I've got a Seagate 160 Gb internal I had installed, also a 250Gb internal that came with the rig from apple that houses only applications (I still can't for the life of me figure why apple would give you that much space on a hard drive for applications. 

I thought I might switch the 250 for the 160 and drop all the applications on the 160 to free up the 250 for Final Cut Storage, but that would void my warranty. I also have a Lacie 160 external I use when I travel from my machine to other machines for certain projects.

My Mac is not online."

To which I replied:

Lets try to keep this stuff on the forum so that others can chime in with their suggestions and add their input.

The 160 GB isn't only for your applications, but music, sound effects (in .aiff form they take up a LOT of space) exported movies for DVD burning...all things not media for FCP.

How is the Seagate formatted? Should be MacOS Extended.