time code breaks

Posted by Lansford B 
time code breaks
November 03, 2005 10:08AM
I am new to your group and i hope you have a solution for me. I am new to FCP 5 and am having trouble caturing video. FCP tells me it has detected time code breaks where there are none. I have been editing with Media100 for years without problems. I wanted to check Final Cut and can't get past the first segment. I am running a dual G5 with an outboard raid. My signal comes from a Sony DSR-80 thru a matrix switcher to an AJA LA box and into the Mac via firewire. The Boston Users Group had a thread running in July describing this exact problem but I saw no one with a solution except for changing the settings to warn after capture. They tested out various equipment and settings just like I did. It seemed to be an FCP 5 problem. have any of run into this problem and what do you do about it? I would appreciate your help. On this project I went backk to Media100 and the capture went slick as a whistle. Thanks
Anonymous User
Re: time code breaks
November 03, 2005 10:47AM
Trash your preferences and try again. And don't capture from very beginning of tape. That usually solves bogus TC break warnings. This assumes you are absolutely sure there are no TC breaks

November 03, 2005 11:05AM
Michael, thanks for your reply. i have already trashed the preferences twice along with the com.apple fcp plist, the prefeneces, the cashe and obj preferences and it made no difference. I have "Safe Booted" my machine and repaired the permissions also to none effect. I never have captured from the very start of a tape because of pre-roll issues. I do not try to capture over breaks caused by camera stops. I have rolled the tape frame by frame and there are no breaks in the timecode yet FCP keeps telling there are breaks detected. What else am I missing?
Anonymous User
November 03, 2005 11:45AM