Partical generators and After effects

Posted by Phil 
Partical generators and After effects
November 08, 2005 04:48AM
I am about to undertake using after effects and Trapcode particle generatores and was wondering if anybody out there is doing the same thing and can we exchange questions and answers. For me this is the most exciting thing and I would love to hear about experiences, sites, discussion boards - ANYTHING, Koz are you in the particle generation wourld? Do you use Combustion 3? What is better, After Effects 6.5 Pro or Combustion 3? I love the discreet interface but it only seems to works in small chunks. I'm new to this> it's brilliant...Phil
Re: Partical generators and After effects
November 08, 2005 11:05AM
Hello, Phil.
I guess I can say I am pretty experienced with AE. So if you need any help, let me know.
Trapcode is a software brand with several tools on the market. I guess you mean their Particular plug-in. I am familiar with it, so any questions let me know.

Both After Effects and Combustion are excellent. Combustion (bitting my tongue, trying to be unbiased) is sometimes prefered by people doing compositing stuff, and AE has a drastic advantage in motion graphics. The good thing about AE is how versatile it is. It does almost everything, and it excells at several of those things (like text animation, second to none).

Before you get into Trapcode Particular, AE has a very sophisticated built-in particle system called Particle Playground. It's not very intituitive to discover all of its' functions by yourself, but it can do wonderful things. For example, you can make the particles be influenced by a luminance map to modify them in different areas of the screen, or set walls where the particles rebound. Particular does allow you to emit particles in 3D space, but I would recommend mastering 2D particles first, as in Particle Playground or, see below, Apple Motion.