Sizing a movie clip, to place over still image in FCP 5 - help a newbie please!!

Posted by Ashley05 
Sizing a movie clip, to place over still image in FCP 5 - help a newbie please!!
December 23, 2005 06:50PM
Hi all,

I really need your expert help for a university project I'm working on to be finished in advance of Jan 13th.

I'm a real newbie on final cut pro 5, so please could you help me out with this request.

Ok!

I have a still image of a woman with a thought/think bubble coming from her head in FCP.

I'd like to import a movie clip, and size it to play for the duration of the still. But, play as a small movie within the thought bubble.

Is this possible at all?

If so, please could you expert guys help me out asap. I'd be ever so thankful for your help.

Please!

Thanks

Ashley
Double-click on a clip in the timeline to open it in the Viewer. To size it, use the Motion tab and change the Scale to under 100 per cent.

You'd probably want to use some kind of image matte so that the movie file plays in the shape of your thought bubble. Or, use Mask Shape (Oval) to shape the movie file approximately. You can also try a Color Key/Chroma Key/Luma Key so that the colour of the thought bubble becomes transparent to reveal the resized movie file underneath. Read these articles for some more information on what tools are available to you:

[www.kenstone.net]
[www.kenstone.net]

This site is a treasure trove of tips by killer pros, some of whom frequent this forum. Have fun.
Re: Sizing a movie clip, to place over still image in FCP 5 - help a newbie please!!
December 23, 2005 08:03PM
Thanks ever so much for the quick reply m8

Is it possible to create a mask or something to shape the movie into a cloud shape thought bubble?

I have a program called ComicLife Deluxe, which I will use to create the thought cloud on my picture, then save it off as a jpeg and import it to FCP.