Derek Mok Please Respond

Posted by apalm 
Derek Mok Please Respond
December 27, 2005 01:24PM

Hello Derek,

I am new to FCP.

I am trying to capture using easy setup for DV NTSC 48kHz Advance (2:3:3:2) Pulldown Removal. I do not experience the problem with DV NTSC FireWire Basic, DV NTSC. I read some earlier threads, on 11/16/2005 DerekMok wrote: I just posted a long thread on this a week ago and was told that a) Advanced Pulldown Removal during capture requires a capture card, and b) To use Cinema Tools instead to remove my pulldown frames.

Please tell me what capture card I need to get for my system.

Thanks so much.
A. Palmore

FCP Studio Version 5
Mac OS X Version 10.4.2
Processor Dual 2 GHz PowerPC G5
Mem 1.5 GB DDR2 SDRAM
400 GB internal Harddrive as the scratchdisk
Footage recorded on a Panasonic DVX100A Mini DV
at 24P Advance, Audio 32Khz
Re: Derek Mok Please Respond
December 27, 2005 01:39PM
Go to this site and read it will give all the info you need.
BTW. Why would you shoot the audio at 32khz?

[www.kenstone.net]
December 28, 2005 12:26AM
Hi Frank,

I appreciate your responding to my post. I am still not sure what it going on because I followed the instructions based on the article you referred me to as well as the one Derek Mok refers to in his post on 11/16/2005. (http://www.larryjordan.biz/articles/lj_dvx_capture.html)

Both articles advise users to choose the Easy Setup "DV NTSC 48kHz Advance (2:3:3:2) Pulldown Removal" to capture DVX100a footage. Unfortunately, I get the following error message: "An error occurred while configuring QuickTime using the current capture preset. Please quit Final Cut Pro and check your hardware configuration."

My hardware configuration consists of the following:
DVX100A Camcorder
DV/Firewire cable (plugged into camera and computer)
Camera power on using AC Adapter
Camera is in VCR mode
Tape is inserted
When I command+8 I get the following message.

Please help.

FCP Studio 5.0.4
OS X 10.4.2
Dual 2 GHz G5