Slow performance (I did read the FAQ)

Posted by D. White 
Hello,

I am new to the Apple environment and new to FCP. I am running FCP HD on a iMac 1.8Ghz G5 with 512Mb of Ram and have 160Gb system drive that I am also (I know...) using for storage.

I recently completed a short on this system as test bed to a feature length edit I will be doing later this year. I am only using the system as an off-line editor, digitizing in offline RT from mini-dv downconverts from D5 and only really need it to generate an EDL for our Discreet Smoke to do final assembly in HD.

While I was able to finish the project (which was only 8 minutes long) I ran into slow performance issues that seemed odd considering the low resolution I was editing at and the relative 'shortness' of the piece.

Periodically, I would get a 'dropped frames' error on playback from the timeline and the only way I could get the system to 'behave' properly was to exit the FCP environment and then re-launch the software.

I had a 'system disk almost full' message come up, but the only volume I see is the system drive which shows 129Gb available. I ran the repair permissions as suggested by the FAQ, but that didn't seem to do anything.

Also, the system seems very unresponsive to JKL keyboard commands, taking 10 to 15 frames to pause after the key was struck.

This was all simple cut to cut editing, no titles, graphics, wipes...not even a dissolve and one channel of dialogue. The only other software on the machine, aside from what came with the system is Logic Express and that is not running at the same time.

I'm a Windows/Avid and Irix/Discreet guy and know virtually nothing about Mac/FCP so I apologize in advance if I'm asking something really obvious and stupid, but I want to sort this out before shelling out for more RAM if it's not really necessary and definitely before I crash and burn in the middle of a feature edit.

Thank you.
Daniel
kevin kennedy
Re: Slow performance (I did read the FAQ)