external drive

Posted by cullen 
external drive
April 27, 2006 10:15AM
Need some help, I'm relatively new to FCP

I run FCP5 on a Powerbook G4 - 80 gigs. Currently, a have approx 35 gigs of space. I'm now working on a documentary but I have up to 90 minutes of footage. Going off of the 1 gig/minute, I obivously need more space. Is it as simple as hooking up to an external drive to allow me to capture and store greater then the 80 gigs on the powerbook.
Re: external drive
April 27, 2006 11:12AM
It's a poor idea to connect a FireWire drive and a capture device to the same FireWire port at the same time, so the way out is to buy a PCCard FireWire adapter and put the external hard drive on that and the capture device on the built-in.

Past that, we try to steer people away from LaCie drives and Western Digital. Both of those have had ratty reputations for whatever reasons. Terrible reputations here on the forum.

An Oxford 911 or later chipset and at least a 7500 rotation speed should do it.

Because of the laptop thing, you have effectively talked yourself out of the larger, faster and more exotic options--RAID, etc--but that should be good for a relatively small, simple production.

Others will chime in with favorite makers, I have several Seagates and I've been happy.

When you get a new drive, make sure it's formatted MacOSX Extended, Non-Journaled. Reformat if you have to. That's important.

Do Not Buy a USB drive.

I think that covers it.

Koz

Post Edited (04-27-06 09:14)
April 27, 2006 11:54AM
<<Going off of the 1 gig/minute,...>>

Where did you get that figure? For DV, it's more like 13 GB/hr, so 90 minutes of DV will take about 20 GB. However, that doesn't mean you're good to go with your internal drive. You never want to fill a drive more than 90%, especially the boot drive, and your renders will eat up a lot of space beyond that 20 GB in no time. And trying to service both the software and the media on the same drive is never a good idea.