Audio GAPS again...

Posted by Televisionworks 
Audio GAPS again...
May 03, 2006 07:50PM
Well... the trouble is back again... This time I try the mixdown and it did not fix it.
Here's the bio of the trouble:
MAC G-5 Quad 4 GB RAM
FCP5
External LaCIE Drive 160 GB & 250 GB

The show is 28':30"

The audio gap is about 3 to 4 seconds.
It happens 2 to 4 times as I playback the final edit.
Video is not affected.
The audio gap happens in random places but after doing more tests it happens arround 6 to 8 minutes into the program (?)

Check all settings of audio but I suspect I have a setting that is conflicting with something... My FCP4 set up was perfect so since I am new to FCP5 I wonder if there are some new features hidden somewhere...
Check manuals and ideas nothing worked so far...

Original footage is coming from DV-Firewire 400. All editing is fine. I rendered many times over and save. Did try the Mixdown trick but did not work this time...

What am I missing? where's the rat?

Thanks in advance for any help.

What will be the perfect config for DV on FCP5 ?

Daniel
www.televisionworks.com

Televisionworks

Televisionworks
Re: Audio GAPS again...
May 03, 2006 09:11PM

<<<I playback the final edit.>>>

That's when a lot of sins pop up.

Scroll all the way down to the bottom of this page; to the "Desparation Method."

[www.kozco.com]

This works in FCP 5 as well. A lot of people do this for the final layoff whether or not they experience problems.

Koz
May 03, 2006 10:26PM
Thanks Koz!
I found the 3 rats!
Rat #1 The Wacom tablet was hooked up to my keyboard USB.
Rat#2 The Canon Scaner was hooked to the front USB plug of the G-5.
Rat#3 The biggest RAT! I did have other shows open in the back, (other sequences)a TV spot and a video presentation with 250 pictures.
With my G4 I could do that practice but the G5 seems to be more picky.
I did close all those projects disconect the unecessary peripherials and the audio gaps are gone for good.