FCP Movie Desaturates on Output

Posted by chadgalloway 
FCP Movie Desaturates on Output
June 17, 2006 12:02AM
Hello,

Have a quick question. I'm cutting a series of short 24fps, DVCPro50 edits for a web-based client. After the cut leaves me it goes to a compression guy for online deployment. I have been exporting a self contained FCP Movie (with it's native settings) for him but the output movie seems to be desaturated. Not a lot but enough. I know that the color information is still there because if I pull the file back into FCP the color is recovered.

Is this desaturation a by-product of FCP Exports? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Chad
chadgalloway@gmail.com

--
Chad Galloway
Cine | Post
chadgalloway@gmail.com
www.chadgalloway.com
--
Re: FCP Movie Desaturates on Output
June 17, 2006 12:34AM
Sounds more like a case of "computer monitors not showing you what's really there" to me, but I'm no expert.
bj
June 17, 2006 01:09AM
I tend to agree with Derek.
The only way to check the Final product is out thru a properly adjusted professional video monitor.
BJ
June 17, 2006 07:12AM

<<<the output movie seems to be desaturated.>>

How are you viewing the work? Talk about the steps you're taking.

No, that's not normal and yes, calibrated or at least predictable monitors are a big deal.

Koz

June 17, 2006 11:10AM
Thanks for the feekback guys. That's a good point as I have only seen the output on 3 different LCD monitors. I do not have a proper monitor for color right now. But the part that confuses me is that inside Final Cut the picture looks colorful with proper saturation and then after output the edit it becomes milky and desaturated. So if the monitor was doing this I wouldn't see a difference would I?

I've tried exporting using both "Current Settings" and also the actual sequence settings but have found the same desat with every attempt. Does a FCP Movie not output all the color info? Should I export in another codec?

Thanks for the help!

Chad