DSR-20 pauses during capture. Hardware or Software?

Posted by pricecom 
DSR-20 pauses during capture. Hardware or Software?
July 07, 2006 05:05AM
Weirdest thing.
I've been capturing DVCAM PAL material through my DSR-20 to my G-4 dual 800 right to a G-Tech 500, using OSX 10.4.7 and the latest Quicktime 7.whatever, using FCP 4.5 and "capture now." not "batch capture". Just downloaded these OSX and Quicktime updates before starting this project.

I've been capturing material using the DSR-20 for years.( Hours meter: Drum rotation 0142 X 10H; threating 0493 x 10H) Now all of a sudden the capture stops (pause symbol blinks on the recorder). apparently when the tape hits a spot where the camera had been stopped while the cameraman shifted angles or shots, or locations. The stuff was shot on a PD-150 PAL. I've been using the camera for a couple of years with no trouble. Tapes were new Panasonic Mini-DV ME M60 in SP. Of course I checked the time code, but there are no breaks in it. The tape plays clean when I'm not capturing. That's why I have to believe it's a software problem. . Problem seems to arise only when the shots change. Can't figure it. Is there an "Update Software" issue here?

By the way, same problem arises when I capture to an internal 80 gig disk, not the external G-Tech.

I've also captured DV-PAL tape shot on a Canon XM-1 (PAL version of the GL-1)right to the G-Tech, and to Video 1 internal. No problem with the Capture. (Although when I put the Canon material into the DSR-20 it coughs and jerks. Sometimes I have to reboot the DSR-20 to get it to settle down.)