Complicated MULTIcam Question

Posted by Daniel Greeney 
Complicated MULTIcam Question
July 06, 2006 07:45PM
As the subject line suggests, this is a complicated question, so please bear with me. (and for those who follow the Apple boards, this same post is over there, so feel free to skip it if you've read it already).

Okay, so I'm pretty new to using multicam, but I have edited one project so far with multiple camera angles (typically only 2). Now I'm moving onto a project which was shot with 4 cameras, all with free-run time code, but that all started and stopped on their own whims. i.e., none of the footage is continuous, but the timecode is.

My first thought was to create individual multiclips going through each shot and matching it up with one or more other shots. The problem with this, I've found, is that in some instances one camera recorded continuously for 30 minutes, when another camera started and stopped during that same 30 minutes on average every five minutes, thus leaving gaps and footage of not uniform length.

For sake of simplicity, let me try to explain this in the following - simpler - example.

CAMERA A - shoots continuously for 30 minutes
CAMERA B - shoots for 5 minutes. Off for 30 seconds. Back on for 3 minutes. Off for 1 minute. etc.

I decided that using the Create Multiclip Sequence function might be appropriate (using overlapping timecode), but when I tried this, in the multiclip that was created at every point Camera B stopped and started, a new ANGLE was created. At one point, I ended up with 15 different angles! The reason being, is that each clip that Camera B creates is considered a new angle in the multiclip, even when there are several clips marked "Angle 1", and perhaps this is part of the problem (it doesn't know what to do with more than one "Angle 1"winking smiley. The end result is that CAMERA B would start in one Angle box, then the next shot would be in another Angle box, and so on.