HDV capture settings

Posted by brimar 
HDV capture settings
December 24, 2006 02:45AM
Hi,

I'm new to HDV editing. I am working on some travel videos and was given about 2 hours of HDV from A Sony HDV-FX1. My question is in a couple parts. What settings should I use for capturing footage? And also what sequence settings should I set for my project? Also, when I go to edit will the entire project have to constantly be re-rendering or if the setting are right will that not be necesaary?

Thanks
Re: HDV capture settings
December 24, 2006 11:31AM
Capture as HDV and edit as HDV. You won't have to render.

If you don't have a lot of filter and effects work, then this will work okay for you.

But if you're going to do a lot of effects, then you should consider a couple of alternatives. One is to convert to DVCPRO. The other is convert to SD.

Let us know a bit more about the final result you're shooting for.

Have a Merry Christmas, but don't eat too much or drink too much; you won't be able to edit well on Dec. 26th when you get back to work. LOL
Re: HDV settings
December 26, 2006 06:01PM
Hello, I have just became a mac final cut pro user. I have imported HDV footage, however, when i place the footage on the timeline it needs to be rendered? Are there and what is the correct setting for an HDV project so that I will not have to render every time? Thank you.
December 26, 2006 07:29PM
filman is at it again...

The format you may want to consider is DVCPRO-HD (NOT DVCPRO). filman also neglected to mention HOW you are to do this conversion from HDV. Converting to SD is not an option - the Editor is asking how to edit in HDV (nowhere did the poster mention down conversion).

filman = PLEASE KNOW WHAT YOU ARE POSTING before posting ANY advice.

brimar,

You "were given" ftg? What are you capturing from (camera or deck) & how are you doing it? Your question depends on what version of FCP you have. There is an HDV Easy Set-up in 5.1.2.

- Joey