Moving Avid Xpress Pro HD Project over to FCP 5.1.1

Posted by AL 
AL
Moving Avid Xpress Pro HD Project over to FCP 5.1.1
May 28, 2007 07:44AM
Help needed on moving a project from Avid to FCP. This is my first time to do this so looking for advice from someone who has been through it as it all feels a bit scary. I am moving a 13 part reality tv series from Avid to FCP. Can anyone tell me the details of preparing the edls. I have about 7 video tracks and 10 audio tracks. Would it be best to do an OMF export of the audio and separate edls of the video layers or one edl with all the video layers. Its been quite a while since I have done an EDL in Avid. Are the selections straight forward? Most of the footage has been color graded already in Avid, will I lose all that grading information or can it be preserved somehow? Also a lot of Saffire transitional plugins have been used, I presume I will lose all those effects too. I need to try and preserve as much of the edit as poissible as it has pretty much been onlined already in Avid, what should my epectations be in this regard? There ara a lot of wipes and graphics in the show too - I presume I can just back all these up on a hard Drive in Quicktime format preserving alpha channels. Any help would be appreciated.
Re: Moving Avid Xpress Pro HD Project over to FCP 5.1.1
May 28, 2007 08:24AM
Why are you doing this? if the show is nearly on-lined and effected you are going to lose a lot of that work.
There are methods for getting from AVID to FCP. Where you counting on recapturing everything or hoping to avoid that? Do you have to move all 13 episodes? Or just one?
Does AVID Xpress Pro HD give yo the same AVID EDL tool as their Media Composer product. It can be a very powerful EDL creation tool.
You'll definitely want to consider this
[www.automaticduck.com]
if you can afford it.
More info please.

ak
Sleeplings, AWAKE!
AL
May 28, 2007 08:49AM
Thanks Andrew.