FCP Universal-log & capture

Posted by dub_artist 
FCP Universal-log & capture
April 11, 2006 04:03PM
I just got the universal version of fcp 5.1 for my intel imac. when i do log and capture, capture now, every two minutes or so fcp pauses and the capture screen goes black and says "break in timecode, searching for timecode" then about 30 sec. later it resumes capturing. then two minutes go by and it starts all over again. after it has finished capturing it loads all the two minute clips into my bin. when i drag them down to the timeline i notice there is about 3 or 4 seconds missing between each two minute clip. i have never had this problem when using other versions of fcp. is there a solution for this?

daniel weber

note: i did not blacken my tape first, which i've never done before, but considering its a timecode problem maybe thats the solution?
Anonymous User
Re: FCP Universal-log & capture
April 11, 2006 04:20PM
Is it a TC problem? Is it continuous TC or are you capturing over TC breaks?

April 11, 2006 05:39PM
i am not sure. after the two minutes (or so) fcp capture pauses and in the dialogue at the bottom of the capture screen it reads, "timecode break searching for timecode break" then it supposedly finds the break and continues capturing for another two minutes and so on. but it always skips about 3 or 4 seconds inbetween each one. theoretically it should be one 12 minute clip! but its breaking it up about every two minutes.
April 11, 2006 06:23PM
yes, you see if there IS a TC break, then it does have to skip the three seconds after it, so there's enough time for pre-roll.
your pre-roll cant be over a TC break.

Mike's asking if there ARE TC breaks on the tape.
do the breaks happen on new shots, or randomly?
put the tape in your deck or camera and turn the display on.
see if there are TC breaks.

cheers,
nick

April 12, 2006 12:03PM
there are no timecode breaks on my tape.