PLEASE HELP: Capturing HDV workflow recommendations

Posted by Eurie Jennings 
PLEASE HELP: Capturing HDV workflow recommendations
August 07, 2007 02:25AM
Hi,

I'm new to HD editing, and have a mixed HDV and SDV test project coming up. I wanted to know what your recommendations would be as far as the setup for capturing and editing HDV film.

I am working on a dual core G5, 4Gig Mac, OS 10.4.10 right now. I am also editing with a PowerBook G4, 2G laptop, OS 10.4.10. I have FCP 5.0.4 on my laptop, and am upgrading to FCStudio 2.

I have several questions that I would REALLY appreciate advice on: Is it ok to capture HDV via firewire straight to the computer, or will I need a Kona or some other capture device? If so, which do you recommend? Is there a major quality difference? I've heard many different takes on how to capture, and read many articles on here, but am left confused.

Also, will I need something like the I/O HD from AJA to be able to edit, or will my computer be able to handle it? I was going to capture offline in low res format, do the edits, then recapture in the HD 1080/60 format before rendering and output. Is that workable or will I need to capture in HDV online and edit the actual format that will be outputted?

I will also have to upconvert the SD to HD as the project is to be in HD format on DVD. Is that possible? Or should I downconvert the HD to SD in the firstplace, edit the project as regular DV project, then recapture the HDV at the end, and upconvert the SD? (I hope I'm making some sense)

Is this a project that will have to be done with FCStudio 2, or can it be done with 5.0.4?

I'm sorry if these questions seem stupid. I'm just a little lost and would really appreciate some guidance! What are your workflow/editing suggestions?

Thank you so so so much in advance!
Re: PLEASE HELP: Capturing HDV workflow recommendations
August 07, 2007 04:42AM