Eliminating background noise

Posted by ERIC B 
Eliminating background noise
April 17, 2006 03:54AM
What's up, all?

FCP5

I've got some background TV noise playing during a doc interview. Camera was pointed at subject but the TV is still pretty loud.

Any suggestions on lowering or drowning out the noise?
Re: Eliminating background noise
April 17, 2006 09:42AM
Please tell me it's not in the same room.

If so, you're in trouble. TV noises would involve a wide frequency of sounds, such as music and voices, which would be very hard to get rid of without killing your interview sound as well. Your best shot might be a Noise Gate, which will attempt to remove sounds below a certain volume. Fire your sound recordist.

If the TV is in the next room, then you can try a High Pass filter. Noises that penetrate through walls would mostly be in the low frequencies.
April 17, 2006 11:23AM
whne you say TV noise are you talking about people talking from the TV or the high pitch hiss noise that a tv makes when on?

April 17, 2006 11:30AM
I don't think there is any graceful way to rescue this shoot, see Mok.

Make sure the new recordist uses large padded headphones to quality control the recording as it's being made.

Sometimes you can get around very difficult recording situations by using a lavalier (chest mounted) microphone or a boom with a very directional microphone.

Never use the little mic on the top of the camera.

Koz

Post Edited (04-17-06 09:36)
April 17, 2006 03:58PM
The TV is in the same room, and yes, it is VOICES from some TV show.
April 17, 2006 08:56PM

Fire the recordist after you shoot them.

Then break it to the producer you have to reshoot or not use that segment.

Koz

April 18, 2006 01:36PM
Shoot the guy who recorded this in the belly, because I hear that's the most painful. Then shoot the tv. Then say something meaningful and clever like, "Sorry, I didn't mean to shoot the TV also. Oh, I believe you said something similar." Then fire him.