Need help importing XML file from FCP 6.0 into FCP 5.0

Posted by ixschell 
Need help importing XML file from FCP 6.0 into FCP 5.0
October 31, 2007 11:17AM
Hi,

An editor tweaked my trailer in FCP 6.0. (He has a G5 and just got Leopard two days ago - I have a G5 running OSX 10.4.10). He gave me four XML files. I can't open any of them. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong because I've never done this before.

This is what I did.
I opened a new project. Under FILE, I went to Import - "XML" file. A menu come up with choices.

Default Settings: DV NTSC 48 kHz
Options checked reconnect to media files, include Markers, include Audio/Video Effects . I then get a message that says "WARNING: Non-critical errors were found while processing an XML document. Would ou like to see a log of those errors now?

When the sequence is in the time line, it's barely there. It has one line of video with mostly slug line and no audio. It's incomplete.

When I tried another XML file, I got a message "Please choose a translation file." I don't know what that is. So, I got ERROR: No translation templates matching the selected XML file were found. Unable to import this file.

The editor who sent this to me has no idea what the problem is. He put a fair amount of work into the trailer and now I can't use it. Does anyone know how to import this file successfully?

Thank you so much!
Colleen
Re: Need help importing XML file from FCP 6.0 into FCP 5.0
October 31, 2007 01:34PM
Sounds like you got something from one or two or them. FCP 6.0 has three versions of XML export. Have your editor try a test file using each version and label it so you both now which prototcol works best. FCP 5 has two versions, as I recall. Version 1.0 would be the most conservative-- common to both.

Save the sequence first to update all metadata. Sometimes this checkbox isn't checked and you may not be getting an updated sequence.