importing FCP into DVD Studio Pro

Posted by Don B. 
importing FCP into DVD Studio Pro
November 18, 2007 06:02PM
I have never used DVD Studio Pro before.
Just finished a half hour program for cable and want to make a DVD from FCP-5.

Do I understand this correctly....for SD......

Convert FCP into a QuickTime File then from there go to Compressor.
Then go from Compressor to DVD Studio Pro.
Do I have the basic flow correct?

I have graphics from Apple Motion through out the program.

Thanks / Don B.
Re: importing FCP into DVD Studio Pro
November 18, 2007 06:35PM
#42 - Quick and dirty way to author a DVD

Shane's Stock Answer #42 - David Roth Weiss' Secret Quick and Dirty Way to Author a DVD:

The absolute simplest way to make a DVD using FCP and DVDSP is as follows:

1. Export a QT movie, either a reference file or self contained using current settings.

2. Open DVDSP, select the "graphical" tab and you will see two little monitors, one blue, one green.

3. Select the left blue one and hit delete.

4. Now, select the green one, right click on it amd select the top option "first play".

5. Now drag your QT from the broswer and drop it on top of the green monitor.

6. Now, for a DVD from an HD source, look to the right side and select the "general tab" in the track editor, and see the Display Mode, and select "16:9 pan-scan."

7. Hit the little black and yellow burn icon at the top of the page and put a a DVD in when prompted. DVDSP will encode and burn your new DVD.

THATS ALL!!!

NOW...if you want a GOOD LOOKING DVD, instead of taking your REF movie into DVD SP, instead take it into Compressor and choose the BEST QUALITY ENCODE (2 pass VBR) that matches your show timing. Then take THAT result into DVD SP and follow the rest of the steps. Except you can choose "16:9 LETTERBOX" instead of PAN & SCAN if you want to see the entire image.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
November 18, 2007 11:21PM