Sync Problems when relinking subclips.

Posted by david martin 
Sync Problems when relinking subclips.
December 07, 2007 06:06AM
I am fairly new to FCP and have just started to re-edit a film previously cut by another editor.
The whole project, media etc has been copied from it's original drives, but how this was achieved I do not know.
The problem I am having is that, whilst all the edited material, that is various cuts of the film play perfectly, the subclips, which are my individual shots will not play in sync.
If I open what should be a synchronised subclip in the viewer, the picture is there and looks fine and plays correctly, but is mute.
If I scroll to the end of the timeline, way past the end of the picture, there is the sound.
It is as if the picture has been laid in from the first frame in the viewer and the sound laid back from the last.
To be sure that no corruption occurred to the project when it was transfered, I got the previous editor to send me a copy of the project directly from their back up, and still the same problem.
I am also getting a General Error warning window when I try to open some subclips, and this is followed by Out of Memory.
Apart from FCP asking me whether I want to update the project when I open it, the other probably more important message was after I had reconnected the media which read:
"some attributes do not match the attributes of the original and may cause problems. The attributes that differed are:
Media Start and End"
Any help on this would be much appreciated, technical data:
My equipment: Dual 2GHz G.5 running OS 10.4.8 with 2Gbs RAM and my version of FCP is 5.1.3.
The project was originally created on FCP 5.0.4 in DV PAL 24@25 and the sound went in at 24bits.
Re: Sync Problems when relinking subclips.
December 07, 2007 07:54AM
> It is as if the picture has been laid in from the first frame in the viewer and the sound laid
> back from the last.