Ben King's Comment on DV/HD color space?

Posted by Phil UK 
Ben King's Comment on DV/HD color space?
February 27, 2008 05:20AM
I am just searching for enlightenment, on the Monitor Flicker query Ben King commented on HD color space being different to that of SD and I don't care how thick I sound making this request but if anyone, Ben you to, can expand and define the concept of color space for me I would love it. Is it a generic or scientific term for the color of various video formats. Yes, I have a rough idea but the science of video is something I am still learning about even though I have edited for seven years. 'Pull down' is another term I should be up on but am not. Cheers Phil UK
Re: Ben King's Comment on DV/HD color space?
February 27, 2008 06:00AM
Haha. you're from the UK. Pull down is almost alien to us PAL users. When converting between film to PAL, the film is simply sped up around 4%. In NTSC, however, a pulldown is used. And yea, it's something that would confuse us PAL editors.

this seems like a good page for that if you want to know more. [www.paradiso-design.net]

There's a lot of math involved in understanding Chroma subsampling. What i understand from it is that it's ratio of luma to chroma compression, as humans are more sensitive to luma movements than to chroma movements. As video requires compression, one way to achieve that compression is to reduce on the color space by sampling at lesser points than with luma samples.

RGB codecs are always 4:4:4 codecs (eg. Animation, microcosm, etc..), then there are 4:2:2 codecs and formats that are frequently in use (Uncompressed 4:2:2, prores hq, digital beta, dvcproHD, dvcpro 50), then there are 4:1:1 codecs that compromise further on the color space (dv ntsc, dvcpro 25), and finally, the 4:2:0 codecs (dv pal, HDV, mpg).

4:2:0 is a little harder for me to understand, but it just doesn't look as good as 4:1:1, which is more consistent both vertically and horizontally.

Corrections, anyone?