Post Work Flow

Posted by amjosk 
Post Work Flow
March 19, 2008 12:32PM
warning! I'm a beginner! don't assume i know anything winking smiley

Thanks!

I am helping out on a documentary. We have 55 hours of footage shot on a DVC Pro HD AJ-P66MP shot on HDX 900 @ 1080 24p

We are bringing an editor on in a few weeks. In the meantime we are having a post house digitize the tapes for us onto hard drives.

This is the first time I've worked with a project like this. Do you have any advice?
Anonymous User
Re: Post Work Flow
March 19, 2008 12:54PM
55 hours? Got a budget? Paper edits are a good idea here. Assuming you are hiring an editor, no real need to have him/her capture all 55 hours of the tapes. Best if you and the other producers sit down and pick the clips. Might want to invest in "P2 log" from Imagine Software and also get Shane Ross's DVD on Getting Organized in FCP. Or just trust your editor and let him/her do it all.

smiling smiley

[store.creativecow.net]
March 19, 2008 01:00PM
OK, you know nothing, I assume.

Step One. TALK TO THE EDITOR!
If the editor hasn't been chosen yet, WTF?
An experienced editor will have preferences as to how stuff should be organized.
Doing this in the dark means the editor will have to just deal with whatever you or the post house have decided to do, not fun. I was put in this position once. A pleasant walk to the intersection of Cluster and a street whose name currently escapes me. Never again.

Step Two ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS
Is it a multi-camera show?
You'll want to make sure whatever drives you are using can handle multiple streams of 1080@24p DVCProHD.
Do tests with the complete end-to-end data flow. Get the post house to capture a few tapes, bang a sequence together, do whatever you think might be done in the edit (multicam, merged clips, audio synching, compositing, including round tripping to AE or whatever). Export how you plan on exporting or finishing.