Glitches and Video Size

Posted by FilmGirl20 
Glitches and Video Size
April 12, 2008 11:58PM
Hey everyone,

I am very new to Final Cut Pro. I have just edited my first video using footage that was shot by a Pure Digital Flip Video Camera (the kind of camera that you just plug into a USB port to upload the footage into your computer). The footage was given to me on a DVD from the person who uploaded the footage on their computer. My intention with this footage was to use it to teach myself Final Cut Pro. I got the Final Cut Pro 4 For Dummies Book and have done pretty well on my own. I have hit two brick walls though and was wondering if anyone can help me. It would be greatly appreciated. Here is the info on my version of FCP and my Mac.

Final Cut Pro Version 5.1.4
MacBook (the white one)
Mac OS X Version 10.5.2
2 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
1 GB Memory

ISSUE #1
The video footage I'm using plays well in Quicktime, but in Final Cut Pro there are very visible and annoying glitches in the video. The glitches remain in all of the versions I have exported from Final Cut Pro. I can't seem to find out how to fix this with the Dummies Book I have and have looked at several FAQ's and can't seem to find any info to help me fix my problem or tell me my problem is unfixable.

ISSUE #2
In the video I am editing, I am using some footage from YouTube that I have converted into MOV files. I can't seem to get this video footage to be the same size as the other footage from the DVD. The YouTube footage comes out way smaller. Again, I can't seem to find out how to fix this.

I understand these may be really simple issues, but I'm just a beginner so please keep that in mind. smiling smiley Thanks for any help! I have the footage available if you need to see it.

Thanks again,
Andrea
Re: Glitches and Video Size
April 13, 2008 12:51AM