Advice on installing a remote computer room

Posted by filmcutter 
Advice on installing a remote computer room
June 21, 2008 05:49PM
Hey everyone. I'm not sure which forum this should be posted in, but I've been impressed with some of the wisdom I have seen here and at the LAFCPUG meetings, so....

I am a FCP editor. My office gets very warm with the MacPro, hard drives, Fibre channel raid, and monitors. My central air cant keep it cool enough. So, I decided to buy a small stand alone AC, install it in a closet and move a lot of the noisy and heat creating gear in there....

Seeing as I will have to install some dedicated power outlets in the closet, I was thinking I might as well also install a few wall plates so I can connect neatly without a mass of cables running under the closet door.

However, I cant seem to find any place that sells firewire 800 wall plates. I cant be the first person attempting this. Has anyone had any luck finding firewire 800 wall plates... Or, a place in the Los Angeles area that will install that kind of stuff properly (I was going to call an electrician).

Also, does anyone have any advice as to exactly what ports I should include in the wall plate to "future proof" my set up? I was thinking FW 800, FW 400, USB, and and Ethernet. And seeing as I do video editing, maybe an HDMI or coax port...

Thanks in advance for any advise of suggestions

David
Re: Advice on installing a remote computer room
June 22, 2008 08:53AM
A firewire hub/repeater might be the answer.

[www.synchrotech.com]

You can get FW400 to 800 adaptors or complete cables.

[www.sonnettech.com]

[www.google.com]

FW800 is backwards compatible with 400 only needs the correct connection.

You can get Ethernet sockets quite easily from most computer stores that have networking departments.

There is a huge list of wall plates here:

[www.provantage.com]

Give provantage a call I'm sure they'll be able to sort out most of the gear you require.