Rendering Screen Capture?

Posted by eric.sanchez 
Rendering Screen Capture?
July 06, 2008 07:33PM
So I recorded myself using a program "iShowU" which is a screen capture program. The codec I chose for no particular reason was H.264. I then imported it into FCP 6.0.3, the problem is that the video needs to get rendered and it says its going to take about 3 hours. I have a 2.4 imac with 4 gigs of ram. Also at about the half way point FCP quits. I would appreciate any help as I am a beginner with FCP. Thanks!
Re: Rendering Screen Capture?
July 06, 2008 07:39PM
H.264 is not an editing-friendly codec. I'm also guessing you didn't capture at the correct frame rate -- frame-rate conversions take forever. Try re-exporting the video with QuickTime Player or MPEG Streamclip, into something like DV NTSC, Motion JPEG A or Photo JPEG. Be careful about the frame size, though -- I'm also guessing your original captured image would be irregular-sized, and to keep correct proportions you'd have to keep the frame size the same.

www.derekmok.com
July 06, 2008 07:50PM
great I'll try that. Yeah I wasnt sure about the Codec, but good to know. But once I convert it I should be able to Edit in FCP no problem right?
July 06, 2008 08:41PM
Codecs, capture settings etc. take a long time to learn, so unfortunately we can't offer you the "right way" on a platter. However, if nothing else, learn these concepts:

- Your CLIP settings determine how good the first-generation master is.
- CLIP settings include video standard (PAL/NTSC/None), codec, quality setting of the codec, pixel aspect ratio, frame size (in pixels), frame rate, audio sample rate, audio bit rate.