Exported Sound as AIFF from FCP has noise

Posted by ixschell 
Exported Sound as AIFF from FCP has noise
July 17, 2008 10:42AM
Hi,

A sound designer is going to tweak the some of the audio for my trailer that I am editing in FCP 5.0. with OS X 10.4.11 He needs a CD of the sound to import it into his old Fairlight System ( it does not firewire, hence the reason for the CD).

I exported the audio from the sequence, Using QT conversion (to AIFF) and Export Audio to AIFF. Then, in Toast 6.0.5 I burned a CD. When the CD was finished it was renamed Witchcraft (because I had previously burned a CD when I downloaded the song from itoons to use as temp music in my film). It also had loud static noise in with the audio. I've never done this before, but even so, it seems my computer is possessed. Any suggestions?

Colleen
Re: Exported Sound as AIFF from FCP has noise
July 17, 2008 11:20AM
A couple of things:

1. Did you do an Audio Mixdown?

2. If it's a sound designer, why not export an OMF? You can do AIFFs, but then you'd have to do each track individually, and you'd have to manually remove all levels, filters and transitions from your timeline or they'll be a permanent part of the sound.

3. Burning to audio CD is not the way to go. The audio in your timeline is 48kHz and audio CDs are 44.1kHz, but your final mix should be at least 48kHz. You're losing a generation for no reason. Just export the files and burn them to a data disc (CD/DVD), or use a USB flash drive, or use an external FireWire drive. Give your designer maximum-quality files, not an audio CD.

www.derekmok.com
July 17, 2008 11:32AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_Interchange_File_Format