HDV on DV timeline

Posted by pricecom 
HDV on DV timeline
July 29, 2008 08:46AM
Great forum. Mike looked terrific in Joey's flier. Hope it's okay to be familiar, but you guys are like movie stars to us out here in the audience.

I shot a few tapes on HDV using a Canon HV-20 PAL.

I'm working on a project that was shot in DVcam 4:3 using both a PD 150 and a DSR-300. The ultimate goal is a one-hour doc for broadcast.

I assume the final product will be letter-boxed. Or maybe upconverted to HD. I'm very new to HD and HDV.

What I need is a way to manipulate the HDV footage and put it into DV? My workflow, so far, has been to open a DV-Pal project using easy setup, then capture using a DSR 20 to a OWC 1 tera, using a trusty old G-4 dual 800 and FCP 5.1. I did this because I was on another project in another room while an young assistant did the log and capture of the DV footage onto the OWC using the old G-4.

Then I went to the MBP, which I just bought to get into FCP 6, color, etc,, and opened a new 1080/50 project, and captured 4 HDV tapes using the HV-20 and a MBP and FCP 6.

I did an experiment, used compressor to turn HDV captured clips into mini-DV 4:3 As expected the image came out squeezed. Good to make fat people look thin, but otherwise not accurate representation of the picture.

I then went to the Imac, opened the project in 5.1 as DV-PAL, did a save as another name then imported the HDV footage into a new project

Then i dropped the HDV footage onto the timeline, then zoomed in, or out, to get a useable frame, then rendered the clip. This worked, as you guys know. But is there a better way, once the tapes are shot in HDV?

Oh, and does anyone know how to unlock a MBP DVD Mashita (sp?)867. Very annoying that Apple doesn't make them multi-region.

Thanks for any help you can provide. As a general rule you guys provide great answers. I try to look at this forum a few times a week. I may have missed the answer if it exists. For this I apologize in advance.