after effectS?

Posted by chaar 
after effectS?
May 18, 2006 11:56PM
Hey guys. Is after effects adobe 7.0 a worthy investment to go alone with FCP?
Re: after effectS?
May 19, 2006 12:01AM
as ive said many times in the past. i could live without FCP but i WOULD DIE without after effects.

YES, buy it NOW!
May 19, 2006 12:16AM
"Hey guys. Is after effects adobe 7.0 a worthy investment to go alone with FCP?"

Get FCS first and them see if you need AE.

- Justin Barham -
May 19, 2006 12:29AM
After Effects is so deep...that I've had it for years and I'm still learning amazing tricks in it. Example....it was a long time before I understood it's 3D Camera (would have been sooner had I read the manual)

You know those HBO promos with Movie Titles flying at you in 3D Space....endlessly...well you can do that in After Effects fairly simply. Many of the still picture moves are far smoother and cleaner in After Effects than in Final Cut Pro....It's a wonderful addition to your edit arsenal.....along with Motion...and ProAnimator...and a number of great compositing programs. Learn them all....Andy
May 19, 2006 12:45AM
Either that or learn Motion.

But AE does so much more. I couldn't work without AE.
May 19, 2006 02:15AM
ok, yes it worth it, but hope you don't have a fancy intel mac, cause adobe isnt' planning to release universal "updates" till 07, apple kinda screwed it's affilites hen they just "announced" their intel deal and just a few weeks later came out with computers, which was just a few weeks prior ae 7's launch.

but as said above, i heart a.e. im debating my focus in my film school because of a.e.

it's like heroin, except no needles, and the life lessons you learn won't leave you in rehab, well atleast from my experience

Amateur Teacher
May 19, 2006 03:47AM
thanks again guys.

Yeah coz im feeling Motion is gettin kinda.. LIMITED in what i wanna do. thanks for the input. AE sounds like an industrial MUST have huh.
May 19, 2006 05:56AM