Still images originally taken vertically are imported in the horizontal position

Posted by Nick Munning 
Still images originally taken vertically are imported in the horizontal position
September 23, 2008 04:57PM
I'm a newbie to this forum and FCP so please reply in simple terms. I use Photoshop to manage my pics. When I take a portrait shot (vertical position) it comes out in PS in the Landscape (horizontal) position so I use PS to rotate it to the vertical position for viewing. However, when I import them into FCP they come out horizontally rather than vertically (which is the position in which we want to view them). I can't find any way in which I can rotate them in the FCP program. Is there anything I can do before importing them? HELP! Thanks, Nick
Re: Still images originally taken vertically are imported in the horizontal position
September 23, 2008 05:06PM
Look in the Viewer, Motion tab.

Hey Jude and Mike, I thought we'd put this in the FAQ?

www.derekmok.com
Re: Still images originally taken vertically are imported in the horizontal position
September 23, 2008 05:13PM
Not that. Just how to deal with picts and importing into FCP. Seems to me all one has to do is do a save as from PS and import into FCP. Not sure why it goes back to landscape mode

Michael Horton
-------------------
September 23, 2008 05:45PM
Are you saving it in PS after you rotate it? Might sound like a silly question, but that's all I can think of, that you rotated it in PS but didn't then save it. Or you saved to a different name or place but loaded the original into FCP by mistake. I do what you're trying to do (successfully) all the time.

Scott
September 23, 2008 05:48PM
Thanks, Guys, I'll look into Motion when I get home as I'm not at my Mac at work (I wish it were my work - hopefully someday!). Will it be self explanatory when I get there or will there be steps to take? I've not gotten into Motion yet. This is my first project (for myself). Thanks again, Nick