G-Raid or ProMax DvBox or OWC for external drive

Posted by condoor 
G-Raid or ProMax DvBox or OWC for external drive
May 25, 2006 04:32PM
I'm looking at 500GB external firewire drives and have it narrowed down to two. I'm very new to this and have gained much of my limited knowledge from this forum as an observer, but I would like peoples opinion as to which one to buy and why. Thanks - chris

G-Raid $450 for 500GB
[www.g-technology.com]

ProMax $499 for 500GB
[promax.com]

OWC - $320 for 500GB
[eshop.macsales.com]

Post Edited (05-25-06 15:02)
Re: G-Raid or ProMax DvBox for external HD
May 25, 2006 04:35PM
condor...I own both fw800 drives and haven't had any problems with either. DVBox is slightly smaller

Nate
Re: G-Raid or ProMax DvBox or OWC for external drive
May 25, 2006 05:08PM
all 3 of those get good reports here on lafcp - id bet any of them will be fine.

here is my take on ANY large firewire drive or raid.

MAKE SURE IT HAS A FAN! drives get hot. multiple drives in a box get hotter. if it aint got a fan i wouldnt buy it.
EMC
May 25, 2006 06:37PM
1T OWC Mercury Elite-AL works like a dream for me.

May 25, 2006 08:19PM
may i suggest a SATA II drive,

hitachi makes a great drive esp for MAC. i believe you can a get a 500gb for just over $200(with out enclosure). + the small cost of a sata card (you can however find firewire and uSB2.0 enclosures that will allow you to get away with out one).

youll greatly decrease your chance of crashing and increase your transfer times tremendously.
May 25, 2006 08:49PM
I will tout G-Raid for as long as I live.

But an external SATA Raid or SATA Drive + SATA card will be faster. Depends on what you are editing. I can work all day long with DVCPRO HD on my two G-Raids.
May 25, 2006 11:05PM