Newbie here...recorded audio at 12bit

Posted by Atom 
Newbie here...recorded audio at 12bit
November 14, 2008 07:34PM
I'm an amatuer and new to FCP and video. I recorded on sony trv900 miniDV. Didnt know to set audio to 16bit. Using FCP ver. 5.1.4 I captured footage using capture now, when the capture is done I get a messege thats says: The audio sample rate of one or more of your captured media files does not match the sample rate on your source tape. This may cause the video and audio of these media files to be out of sync. Make sure the audio sample rate of your capture preset matches the sample rate of your tape.
I know I shot with the audio set to 12bit, is there anyway to set FCP to 12bit audio? If not what can you suggest?
Re: Newbie here...recorded audio at 12bit
November 14, 2008 07:57PM
If you are having problems - use compressor or quicktime pro or even FCP to export the files as Quicktime DV movies with 48kHz 16bit audio.

Then re-import the exported files.

This should sort out your issues.

You could also just export the audio as 48kHz 16bit AIFFs or WAVs but then you'd have to sync them.

Check on longer clips that everything is in sync.

For instant answers to more than one hundred common FCP questions, check out the LAFCPUG FAQ Wiki here : [www.lafcpug.org]
November 15, 2008 02:15PM
Thanks for that info. I'll give that a try. How about this other idea though. I just thought of it this morning. What if I copied the tape to another miniDV camera with that cameras audio set to 16bit. Do you think that would work? I have a friend with a much higher end miniDv camera I can use.
November 15, 2008 02:30PM
You could try it but if you went FireWire to FireWire it should only make a exact digital duplicate on the other tape. Meaning it will end up being 12-bit 32kHz. Try it and see but I'm guessing that you might be disappointed.

If you go analog to analog then you will lose AV quality.

The best option is to transcode as I mentioned above.