workflow options FCP S2 and Canon HV30 (on-location vs. studio)

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
workflow options FCP S2 and Canon HV30 (on-location vs. studio)
December 01, 2008 04:53AM
Please excuse this long post, but I have searched here and DVXUser's forums (and posted same on DVInfo.net), and cannot see a clear solution to what I want to do. I am new to HDV.

First, the gear: I use a Canon HV30 and BeachTek to get decent radio mic sound into the camera. I have a MacBook with FireWire 400 connector, and a LaCie Rugged 7,200rpm drive for on-the-road use; and a MacPro in the studio, with lots of RAM and fast internal drives, and a DSR-11 for SD tapes. I am trying to get the best-possible quality sound and vision in a truly portable package---the entire kit (minus tripod, which goes into checked luggage) fits easily into a carry-on bag; essential as most of what I shoot is overseas. I have the PAL version of the camera.

I am trying to work out the best workflows for when I am on-location, as well as when I am at home, shooting in my studio, for both YouTube and DVD output. Two different work flows is no problem---I would like to be able to upload YT clips when I am on location, and bring back the files (whether on mini-DV or HDD) for editing into programs for DVD output.

So, I am considering two workflows: one with the portable kit and the MacBook (with fast output of YouTube clips while on-locartion the objective); the other studio-based, with best-possible DVD5 or DVD9 output when I get back home.

To this point, I have been downconverting the HD to SD in-camera, and recording wide-screen standard def. (SD). I assume that this footage will be simple to ingest in FCP, via the DSR-11, as with ordinary SD tapes. This workflow presents no problems, as far as I can see.

But I would like to take advantage of the HDV quality in future shoots---so am considering these options:

1. Shoot HDV, and record onto tape.