Final Cut Express Rendering Issue

Posted by ChuckJ 
Final Cut Express Rendering Issue
December 02, 2008 06:25PM
Hi guys...

I'm a bit new to Final Cut Express and am having what is probably a very simple issue.

The project is composed of:

1. A .mov file that came from LiveType. It was set up and rendered out at 1910 x 1080.

2. A graphic in JPEG format that is also 1910 x 1080.

3. Footage from a Canon HV20 that was imported into FCE using the DV-NSTC setting.

4. Credits at the end using Boris Title Crawl.

The issue comes in rendering. I'm QuickTime conversion. Regardless of whether I use the iPhone, iPod or Apple TV presets, or go in and play with the settings, I'm getting black bars at the top and bottom of the image. Everything plays and looks fine otherwise.

Example: the iPhone export gives me a 480 x 320 file, but with the bars at the top and bottom. I'd like to get to 640 x 360, but have the same issue if I go in and play with the QT settings.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

---Chuck
Re: Final Cut Express Rendering Issue
December 02, 2008 07:28PM
The LT project and the graphics should be 1920x1080 if you're working in HD.

What format is your sequence? Check item properties.
December 02, 2008 07:47PM
Thanks for responding Tom...

It looks like I mis-stated. Everything is showing up as 1920 x 1080, *except* the footage. That's 1440 x 1080.

I'm guessing that the difference is the issue???

---Chuck
December 02, 2008 07:49PM
No, HDV footage is supposed to be 1440x1080.

Trouble is, I don't know thing one about Final Cut Express. It's like an entirely different country from Final Cut Pro. So as far as I know, it could be anything.

December 02, 2008 07:58PM
Where I admit I'm getting confused is that if I find the imported clip in the Finder and do a Get Info, it is showing up as 1920 x 1080.

Jeff, now that you mention it, I have the black bars in FCE when I play the sequence. Hadn't even realized that before.

----Chuck
December 02, 2008 08:01PM