Compressor MPEG2s look blocky

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
Compressor MPEG2s look blocky
December 05, 2008 10:13AM
Here's a weird problem I have experienced since I've been using Compressor:

When I output a project to MPEG2 using Compressor, it looks a little "blocky" on my 32 inch HDTV monitor when played on a standard DVD player. The way I have been making DVDs for the past several years has been to lay my edited project back to HDV tape, and then play that out of my Sony Z1U downconverting to standard def. and recording on a Panasonic DVD recorder, stripping the MPEG2 and the AC3 off the disc using MPEG Streamclip and make my authored disc with menus in DVDSP.

There are 2 things I notice between the different processes: The volume on the audio going through Compressor is significantly lower than the audio recorded on my DVD recorder...maybe because there's an AGC on the DVD recorder. But secondly, the footage going through Compressor looks a little jaggy, blocky, or whatever you want to call it. In my opinion, it looks like a slight Mosaic filter has been applied, when compared to the DVD recorder.

I'm not sure what the cause of this is...and it's a bit frustrating, because I would like to take advantage of Compressor more, but this quality problem is obvious, not the kind of thing where 9 out of 10 people wouldn't see it, but probably 2 out of 10 wouldn't see it.

I've been hanging out on a recent ProRes thread, and I'm wondering if the fact that I haven't been using it is what's contributing to this problem.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!!!
Re: Compressor MPEG2s look blocky
December 05, 2008 11:37AM
>In my opinion, it looks like a slight Mosaic filter has been applied, when compared to the
>DVD recorder.

That may be caused by the downscaling. Downscaling usually results in aliasing. Graeme Nattress will probably give you much better insight on this.