HELP, Media files went off-line!

Posted by yogatic 
HELP, Media files went off-line!
April 21, 2009 11:21AM
Hi,

I am still a beginner here with FCP. And this keeps happening to me:

Often after opening my project some files went off line and I can not trace them back what so ever.
Today I had to clear some scratch space and removed other titles and render files, most of them nothing to do with the project.
I realised my mistake and dragged everything back from the trash into the disk.
How will I find them cause the conventional way, following the' reconnnect media' dialog does not do the trick.

I am using FCP 6
Mac Osx 10.4.11

I 'saved as ' every day on the drive but also onto an external, that does not seem to have the files either.

Which brings me to my next question : how should I save this , without losing files all the time ?
Thanks, Bas
Re: HELP, Media files went off-line!
April 21, 2009 11:28AM
Media management is arguably the single most important technical skill a Final Cut editor can have. It's pretty easy to get it right, but ? as you've discovered ? a mind-boggling time-waster when you don't.

In your Final Cut browser, right-click the column headings and select "show source." You'll probably have to expand the width of the source column to see anything useful. Here you can see the path to all of your media files. This tells you exactly where Final Cut is looking for each media file. For your offline files, it'll say where it expected to find the media files.