Editing a Short shot on 16mm

Posted by gervaismz 
Editing a Short shot on 16mm
May 26, 2009 07:00AM
Hi guys,

im having a little bit of a headache getting my brain around a short film i'll be editing in june here in malaysia. the director and dop have decided to shoot on 16mm film. the telecine house will be giving me a digibeta pal format (not sure if it will be anaphormic of not yet) and then i need to give them a edl so that the color grading can be done on film, then i get a digibeta back where i have to make a dvd master. so here is my questions

1) do i have to use cinema tools to take the digibeta footage and convert it back to 24 frames before i start editing?
2) what would be the best settings to edit the footage on and/or do the dvd from, ie 8bit uncompressed or 10bit uncompressed as the director wants the best quality she can get?
3) any helpful tips or tricks to make this edit as painless as possible as this is my first time dealing with anything shot on film. (ive always been in the digital world so this film thing is kind of scaring me a little)

cheers
james
Re: Editing a Short shot on 16mm
May 26, 2009 08:31AM
Number one thing is find a lab with FCP experience. Get that and they will do all of the tricky stuff for you. If not it will be hard.

Noah

Final Cut Studio Training, featuring the HVX200, EX1, EX3, DVX100, DVDSP and Color at [www.callboxlive.com]!
Author, RED: The Ultimate Guide to Using the Revolutionary Camera available now at: [www.amazon.com].
Editors Store- Gifts and Gear for Editors: [www.editorsstore.com]
May 26, 2009 08:40PM

do i have to use cinema tools to take the digibeta footage and convert it back to 24 frames before i start editing?

yes, and no.
you can do the "Conforming" in FCP now.
it is fast and simple.

you may NOT need a cinemtools database.
that would only be required if you needed to track something other than TC,
like the film's key-code,
or Audio TC if you are having rushes synched in telecine.