PLEASE HELP - Capture Settings

Posted by bshorey 
PLEASE HELP - Capture Settings
February 12, 2010 01:06PM
Disclaimer: I am a novice at shooting on a nice camera, although I have worked with smaller consumer handheld DV Cams. I have used FCP extensively, though I probably don't know all the ins and outs.

I've spent several days shooting interview-style footage on a Sony DVCAM I am unfamiliar with. The DV record mode on the camera was set to DVCAM, 48k, which is what I was told to set it to by my film school graduate brother. Using the easy setup in FCP (version 5.1.4), he told me to choose HDV 1080i60.

FCP says it is unable to find the device.

The camera is connected to my backup drive through a 6-4 Zip-linq firewire cable. Nothing fancy. Then my backup drive is connected to my computer through a 6-6 firewire cable.
I had messed around with it last night and imported using the regular old NTSC setting in FCP, and it recognized the camera fine.

I have a feeling I am just choosing the wrong capture setting in FCP, but I have tried a few others and have had no luck, other than the NTSC setting.

Other camera settings that might help with a solution:
VCR HDV/DV - Auto
DV REC MODE - DVCAM
Component - 1080i/480i
i.Link CONV - OFF
DOWN CONVERT - LETTER BOX

Please help I am up against a deadline and about to pull my hair out. Thanks.
Re: PLEASE HELP - Capture Settings
February 12, 2010 01:46PM

The DV record mode on the camera was set to DVCAM, 48k

This is fine.

he told me to choose HDV 1080i60

This is not. If you shot DVCAM, then you have to tell Final Cut to set itself up for DVCAM. Like you yourself said, you have to use the correct capture preset; in this case, it sounds like that's DVCAM NTSC.

February 12, 2010 01:58PM
Is that a low quality mode? Will any of the other capture options give me better quality?
February 12, 2010 02:01PM