FCP Patch for AVCHD (AAVCAM)

Posted by sushiboy54 
FCP Patch for AVCHD (AAVCAM)
March 13, 2010 12:05PM
Does anyone know when a new patch for FCP will come out that will allow the ingestion of AVCHD video directly into FCP? I am new to this and heard that this should be coming out soon....is that correct, and if so, when?
Re: FCP Patch for AVCHD (AAVCAM)
March 13, 2010 12:14PM
Not that I know of, as this would mean you'd take a lot longer for RT previews as well as to render. And you don't want to render back out to AVCHD anyway.

www.strypesinpost.com
March 13, 2010 12:29PM
You mean the H.264 MPEG-4 mts file? I doubt that will happen. I could have been done in FCP7 if Apple wanted to do it.
March 13, 2010 12:33PM
(forgive me I am brand new to this)...so, then to get my files from my new AVCHD CAMERA into FCP I pop my card into the card reader, use Voltaic or something like that to convert the raw footage and then import that into FCP? Wow, seems like alot of hoops to jump through, as well as tons of uploading/conversion time....any thoughts or suggestions? thanks
Final Cut Express and AG-HMC150p
March 12, 2010 10:50PM
Hi....Apple sent me here for answers....I have a quick question. In Final Express I need to know if my new AVCCAM AG-HMC150P Panasonic camera can be used with FCE.....if I put the SD chip in the card reader, will FCE recognize it and import it....I hear also that its one gig for every minute....if I have a 50 minute lecture, thats a 50 gig file!! Can FCE handle that...THEN, what happens when I export it to burn on a DVD...what size is it then, because it needs to go on a regular 4 gig dvd...any help would be greatly appreciated....jv
Re: Final Cut Express and AG-HMC150p
March 12, 2010 11:27PM
Final Cut Express 4 is supposed to support AVCHD through log-and-transfer, same workflow as Final Cut Pro. I'm just guessing here, but it probably uses Apple Intermediate as its intermediate format; if so, you're going to see a severe quality hit when digitizing.