Advice on new Mac Pro purchase please.

Posted by Rick Sparks 
Advice on new Mac Pro purchase please.
September 28, 2010 12:18AM
Sorry if this is a repeat, but I just can't find my previous post after several searches. I'm soon to be shooting with a Panasonic HPX-170 and have just installed Snow Leopard and FCP 7 in my current Mac Pro 1.1. I need to buy a new Mac Pro this fiscal year (the tax man will eat me otherwise) and I'd sure appreciate any input on which of the new Mac Pros you think best for editing HD. I've heard bad things about the Radeon cards that come with the new Mac Pros. Anything else I should be aware/wary of? I've been making 30 sec TV commercials for many years (anybody out there remember 3/4?) but am moving over to longer format, 10 minute or so videos, mostly on conservation topics. All input gratefully received. Thanks.
Re: Advice on new Mac Pro purchase please.
September 28, 2010 12:43AM
What format are you planning on shooting? I just checked out that camera and it says it shoots 20 different HD and SD formats. What's your destination for the footage? You could optimise your spend if this could be figured out before you buy.

September 28, 2010 01:21AM
The hpx170 was the tapeless successor to the panny hvx202. It shoots to dvcpro hd, dv, dv50 and dvcpro. Not sure if it does avc intra. Dvcpro hd is a very light codec to work with, and you will be fine on just about anything from FireWire 800 on singlecam shoots. For the graphics card, the current fad is a good cuda powered card for CS5. The resolve also uses cuda heavily.

www.strypesinpost.com
September 28, 2010 10:27AM
I'll be mainly shooting 720p.
September 28, 2010 11:33AM