Auto render and other basic ?

Posted by Joe Riggs 
Auto render and other basic ?
January 09, 2011 03:56PM
Hi,

I'm new to Final cut from premiere and if I leave FCP for awhile and come back I see auto render complete. I know Final cut can render stuff in the background so I'm assuming that is what it's doing. However, I'd like a greater understanding of auto render and if I really need it.

I'm working on a 20 min rough cut (pro res 422 1080p) at the moment, 95% of my edits are straight cuts, there's a few fades, non moving titles and I've adjusted the composition of a few shots by scaling. Therefore, do i really need it to render every time I leave my computer for a couple hours? Is there an advantage to this for my situation? I don't need full quality playback.

Ideally, as long as the clips can play back without stuttering, I'd like to complete the project and then render once when I output to Compressor.

I'm editing on a mac mini so not the most powerful machine, every so often I'll get a warning of dropped frames, is it possible to adjust the playback quality, so I will not drop frames?

If I do adjust the playback settings, will it still export at maximum quality, or will I need to change it back to full?

Thanks
Re: Auto render and other basic ?
January 09, 2011 04:04PM
> I know Final cut can render stuff in the background so I'm assuming that is what it's doing.

That, actually, is incorrect. "Background rendering" means you can do other work within the same application as it's rendering. Final Cut Pro can ingest (import files via Log and Transfer) while you edit, but it can't render effects in a timeline or do exports while using other operations. You have to cancel a render before you can initiate any other FCP command.

Auto render kicks in after a user-specified number of minutes FCP has been sitting idle. But if the render starts, you have to stop it before you can do anything else.