re: HDV motion artifacts -- do solutions exist?

Posted by derekmok 
August 12, 2006 12:15AM
I've been editing a short film shot on HDV 60i and being editing on Avid XPress Pro. The Sequence is set to 29.97fps as far as I can tell -- I didn't set up the project. I just had a first cut yesterday and exported it to a DV NTSC movie file (720 x 480, 29.97fps, interlaced lower field first) for viewing.

This is my first time viewing and cutting HDV so maybe I'm just seeing what so many others are seeing, but the motion artifacts are horrible -- not just during high-speed action shots, but sometimes during even static C-Us in dialogue scenes, and slow-mos done in the Avid XPress itself look even choppier than DV footage in FCP.

So I'm wondering a couple of things:

a) Is there a solution for this? Plugins or applications that can improve the movements? Or was something done wrong in treating this HDV footage? (I will get more tech specs from the producers/directors and DP on camera model, shooting mode etc.)

b) Is it possible that some of the footage was shot differently or captured differently? In some cross-cutting sequences, I'm seeing motion problems on one shot, then not in the next, then in the next shot again. Normal or not?

c) Could something be done in my movie-file export that can improve the playback quality? Did I use OK settings for the export? The motion stuff doesn't look as bad in the Avid XPress monitor (don't have an external monitor, unfortunately, nor a playback/capture device -- this is a very minimal, amateur editing setup owned by the directors), but I thikn it could also be because the image is so small.
August 12, 2006 12:35AM
HDV is upper odd field...
August 12, 2006 12:37AM
Magic Bullet Suite 2.1 has been "magic" for me with HDV.

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

August 12, 2006 01:52AM
> Magic Bullet Suite 2.1 has been "magic" for me with HDV.