Avid to FCP

Posted by RedMicki 
Avid to FCP
February 23, 2011 07:58PM
I just had files and a 75 minute timeline transferred from my old Avid
Media Composer 9600 (internal and external drives) to an external LaCie hard
drive. When I tried to open them on my Mac Pro in Final Cut Pro, they
would not open. Although I'm a filmmaker and good editor, I am very limited technically.
What do I have to do to open the timeline created in Avid to continue editing in FCP?

Thanks so much.

Micki
Pro Bono Productions
www.neshobafilm.com
Re: Avid to FCP
February 23, 2011 11:26PM
You need Automatic Duck (www.automaticduck.com). Avid files are really only viewable on an Avid...proprietary media. But there is a way with Automatic Duck to send the cut to FCP, and it will make QT files that reference that Avid media. But there are limitations.

You can only work with the media in the cut. You doesn't convert the entire project, nor all the media. Only what is in the cut. You need to download and install the Avid codecs from Avid.com in order for FCP to see the footage. And, you need to export this cut from Avid Media Composer...so you need to open the project in Avid, export an AAF (or OMF in the case of an OLD old project), and then use the Duck Pro Import option to import that into FCP.

This is pretty old. I might flag the author of the Duck to see what the issues might be. Tricks that might need to be done.

Or...you can purchase the Avid Media Composer software and continue cutting on Avid. ANd there is a 30 day trial, if you think you can finish in a month. OR...you can use that 30-day trial to access the project and export the AAF that the Duck craves.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
February 23, 2011 11:51PM
The other method belongs to the cavemen. Export an edl, bring that into FCP, trim and capture from tapes with handles. Good luck with tapeless formats, and you will need a lot of eye matching.

www.strypesinpost.com