Website Creation Advice Needed - hire out or do it myself

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Website Creation Advice Needed - hire out or do it myself
October 30, 2011 09:55AM
If this is too much off topic, administrator can delete.
I have several videos produced inhouse over the years that I would like to market on the Internet. I do not have a website and do not have any experience in the creation of a website. I am struggling with having to decide to have someone set it up for me at a quoted cost of $600.00 or should I get Dreamweaver and do it myself. The site needs to be able to sell the videos using PayPal. (I already have a PayPal account on Ebay) I learned Final Cut Pro totally on my own (with a few tutorial books and dvds), so I think I can do the website myself or am I asking for a big headache... as stated, I have no experience in web design. My research seems to show that Dreamweaver is a good choice.
Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.... Kindest regards..... Ron (aka Super Rabbit)
Re: Website Creation Advice Needed - hire out or do it myself
October 30, 2011 01:12PM
I'd say try it yourself and if you don't like the results, go down the paid route.

My software:
Pro Maintenance Tools - Tools to keep Final Cut Studio, Final Cut Pro X, Avid Media Composer and Adobe Premiere Pro running smoothly and fix problems when they arise
Pro Media Tools - Edit QuickTime chapters and metadata, detect gamma shifts, edit markers, watch renders and more
More tools...
Re: Website Creation Advice Needed - hire out or do it myself
October 30, 2011 02:00PM
Hey Ron,

A bit of an honest Reality Check:

If you want to "market" something, DO NOT be cheap and do a half-baked website on your own. People have the illusion they can buy software and that makes them a Designer / Editor / Compositor with no previous experience. It does not. Dreamweaver is a good choice...for Designers that know how to use it.