field dominance problem

Posted by esbenhardt 
field dominance problem
January 07, 2012 06:33PM
Help! I have a rejected master from a TV distributor who says my master has interlace errors "all over it".

I cannot see anything wrong on my 3 monitors but the TV distributor's tech department and also a friends studio reports that the movie plays back in a "stuttery" way on their monitors. I am using the BlackMagic Decklink HD Extreme video card on a TV-Logic broadcast monitor via HD-SDI, a JVC Analog Component SD monitor via Component, and a Sony HDTV via HDMI. None of these show the error. But if I play back the master file using the spacebar command in Finder (Snow Leopard) there are bad jagged/combing edges on all motion in the pictures. If I compress it for Quicktime, DVD and BluRay I get a "stuttery" playout on my HDTV, and jagged/combing edges on the computer monitors.

My master film has been pieced together in FCP with clips exported out of Avid, DaVinci Resolve, and ProRes converted material originally shot on XDCAM EX and DSLR's. Some of these clips must have had the fields swapped to the wrong order as my ProRes 422 HQ master file is in the correct Upper field dominance format.

I have used the following sequence settings for the timeline:
SEQUENCE SETTINGS:
Frame Size: 1920x1080, HDTV 1080i (16:9)
Pixel Aspect Ratio: Square, NOT CHECKED, Anamorphic 16:9
Field Dominance Upper (Odd)
Editing Timebase: 25
Compressor: Apple ProRes 422 (HQ)
Quality: 100%
ADVANCED COMPRESSION SETTINGS:
Compression Type: Apple ProRes 422 (HQ)
Frames per second: 25
Camma Correction: Automatic
CHECKED, Interlaced, Top field first
NOT CHECKED, Enable chroma filtering for 4:4:4 sources

I have analyzed the clips in the timeline for field dominance using the Item Properties command and 75-85% turns out to have field dominance set to None, while the rest has it set to Upper.
Is this a problem for FCP?