Trouble making QT movie from FCP 5.1.4

Posted by browncow 
Trouble making QT movie from FCP 5.1.4
June 20, 2012 04:42PM
Hello. I could use some help. I have a rough cut of a documentary I am making on FCP 5.1.4. The cut is about 1 1/2 hours long. I am able to make a FCP version of it but cannot make a stand alone QT movie of it. My MAC is OSX version 10.5.8. I am using an external hardrive which has 113.77GB of free space. I tried to export it overnight with QuickTime Conversion but this morning it said I had 32 left and only 30% of it had been completed.

I am not an expert and FCP but have been able to do ok for the past several months. Any thoughts, suggestions, ideas? I appreciate the help. Thank you

Sonya
Re: Trouble making QT movie from FCP 5.1.4
June 20, 2012 05:06PM
Export - QuickTime Movie to make a full-quality version. Then, if you need a compressed version of it, run the flattened QuickTime movie through Compressor or MPEG Streamclip.

> I am able to make a FCP version of it but cannot make a stand alone QT movie of it.

That doesn't mean anything. "FCP Movie File" is an entity that hasn't existed since FCP3 or so. After that, all movie files exported by FCP are simply QuickTime movies. You probably just have Mac OS set to open QuickTime movies using FCP, by default. If you exported a movie file, just select it in Mac OS, COMMAND-I, and choose QuickTime Player as the default application. The icon will change to a QuickTime icon.

www.derekmok.com
June 20, 2012 07:01PM
Also, what format are you exporting? Some codecs are very big, and it sounds like you're going out to one of those. Hundreds of gigabytes for a one and a half hour show would not be out of the question.

June 20, 2012 07:55PM
thanks Derek and Jude,

Derek,
I have tried exporting the way you've suggested but it takes forever and I'm not sure I am using the correct settings.

Jude,
Sorry, I'm not sure I understand your question...what format are you exporting?"
June 20, 2012 08:50PM