Music Composer with questions regarding Quicktime Compression

Posted by Music_Composer 
Music Composer with questions regarding Quicktime Compression
October 18, 2006 07:06PM
Hello everyone. (I hope I'm posting in the correct forum)

I'm a music composer, and dont have much knowledge with FCP or quicktime conversions, so please bare with me. I'm scoring a movie that was shot on DVCpro HD at a frame rate 23.98fpc (with some slow motion shots at 59.94, meaning they edited the project at 59.94fpc in FCP) and I need to get a movie file to start working on scoring the project, and they are asking me what I need, and I'd like to double check with you guys to make sure I'm doing this right smiling smiley

First off, they are asking me what frame rate I want. I obviously want the same frame rate as the final film, which will be 24fpc, right? Or do I want the 23.98 or 59.94 file? (The film makers really should know this, but after a bad experience with a past project "drifting," I like to double check their work).

They are also asking me what quicktime compressor I want for the visual data. Since I will be running my composition program (LogicPro) pretty hard for this project (mainly RAM/disk speed but good deal of processing as well), are there any recommendations for the best compressor to ask for? I will be placing the movie on its own FW800 drive, so does file size matter when streaming a video of a separate drive for overall performance? If not, would it be best to get the raw, 17GB file? If size does matter, would it be best to get the smallest file possible (that I can still see the picture) to conserve resources? Do different compression settings effect quicktime performance in programs differently? If so, which is the best, least taxing compressor to ask for?

Sorry for all the questions. I just want to make 100% sure I'm doing this right! Thank you in advance for your help!