automatting TC information?

Posted by Stephen A 
automatting TC information?
April 06, 2007 02:12PM
I'm an assistant editor on a reality series and one of our deliverables is a time-coded script. This is the first time I've dealt with the time-consuming chore of typing in every damn TC for every new line of dialog. Is there any way to automate this? I understand that flagging the in-points for the dialog is an unavoidable process, but typing in those numbers--well, there's got to be a work around, right?

I imagine there's a way to get FCP markers out of FCP as a text file OR a plug-in that will export that info...something!

If a time-coded script is a common deliverable for a reality series, then how do you all do it? What's the easiest way? I'm open to any suggestion.

Thanks!!
Re: automatting TC information?
April 06, 2007 02:23PM
Sorry man, no magic plugin for that. It is just one of the TEDIOUS tasks they assign to the assistant editor. I've done it, my assistants do it. Assistants are there to do all the tedious stuff, so that the editor is available to create.

The way I always did it was me, the assistant editor, at the controls of the machine would go to the location where the dialoge started and verbally say the timecode to the associate producer who sat behind me taking down the information.

Part of your job man.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
April 06, 2007 03:41PM
Well, time code logging hardware/software has been around for a very very long time. RS-422 or LTC into some device attached to a computer, hit keys to insert code. I had one working on my Amiga way back when... I have one for my Palm Pilot which I can't name 'cause it's been on the shelf so long.

Some softwares you can use with QTs outside of FCP: InqScribe, QTMovieNoteTaker, MovieLogger. Some limitations in each as to support for source TC. Inqscribe works best for me for general-use transcripts and closed captioning prep.